Partners of Keep Calgary Strong Campaign

#KeepCalgaryStrong was initiated by the Calgary Alliance for the Common Good. It is a collaborative of organizations and individuals who share resources, knowledge and the commitment to work together to ensure Calgary’s vulnerable citizens are protected from the consequences of City cuts.

We would invite all organizations that would like to join us in our #KeepCalgaryStrong campaign to contact keepcalgarystrong@gmail.com to have your name/logo added as a partner.

                                         

         

 

November 20, 2019

Dear Mayor Nenshi and City of Calgary Councilors,

#KeepCalgaryStrong is a growing coalition of organizations and Calgarians that support the principle set out by City Council: cuts in the operating budget should do the least harm to Calgary’s most vulnerable and poor. We believe that if budget cuts are necessary, they should not compromise access to jobs, safety, education, health care and the social participation of those most dependent on City services. We respect the financial challenges confronting City Council and understand that recent decisions by the Province have done the city no favors.  We find the principle of “doing least harm” is most critical in guiding decisions and establishing priorities. Any cuts in supports and services for those who are already vulnerable will only increase stress and trauma. Demands on community resources and support networks will only go up, not down. Losing needed City services for the less fortunate will weaken, not strengthen, our community.

Specifically, we ask that city council

  • Maintain current transit services and fare structure (Concerning 330,000 Calgarians) Specifically, we ask that you preserve the low-income sliding scale pass at the current rates. The 66 000people  living on less than $13 000 a year who have benefited from the Band A pass are telling us that the 250% increase in cost is not something they can afford.  We also ask that no further decreases in service hours be made as transit is a life-line for so many Calgarians to get to work, school and services. 
  • Reconsider the proposed cuts to affordable housing, community social workers, and other social services like libraries. These services make our city resilient and livable and are a life-line for the whole community, not just the 122 000 Calgarians living on low-incomes.

It is said that one can judge the vibrancy and strength of a community by how it supports its most vulnerable members; how effectively it brings them into greater participation with civic life. We support your stated commitment to build a strong and resilient city by doing the least harm to our most vulnerable citizens. We believe these requests will help you keep our city strong and vibrant.  We look forward to addressing council on November 25th.   We welcome the opportunity to work together toward our shared goals.

#KeepCalgaryStrong was initiated by the Calgary Alliance for the Common Good. It is a collaborative of organizations and individuals who share resources, knowledge and the commitment to work together to ensure Calgary’s vulnerable citizens are protected from the consequences of City cuts.

Sincerely,

The Alex; Joy Bowen-Eyre; jbowen-eyre@thealex.ca

Beth Tzedec Congregation, rabbi@bethtzedec.ca

Calgary Alliance for the Common Good     Ryan Andersen  ryan@calgarycommongood.org

Calgary Climate Hub, Joe Vipond, jvipondmd@gmail.com 

Calgary Inter Mennonite Church, Dale Taylor, daletaylor.home@gmail.com

Calgary Interfaith Council, Rabbi Shaul Osadchey rabbi@bethtzedec.ca

Calgary Reads; Steacy Collyer; steacy@calgaryreads.com

Canadian Poverty Institute, Derek Cook, derek.cook@ambrose.edu

Christ Church (Anglican) Elbow Park, Rev. David Pickett, Rector@christchurchcalgary.org

Community Kitchen; Sundae Nordin; snordin@ckpcalgary.ca

CUPS; Robert Perry; RobertP@cupscalgary.com

The DI, Sandra Clarkson, Sandra Clarkson sandrac@thedi.ca

Disability Action Hall, Colleen Huston, actionhall@calgaryscope.org

Eritrean-Canadian Community Association, Tesfamicael Ghebrehiwet <tesfa@shaw.ca

FreshRoutes, Anna Johnson, freshroutesyyc@gmail.com

Further Education Society; Elaine Cairns; ecairns@furthered.ca

Generation Indigenous (GENi), Joe Plant, genindigenous@outlook.com

ATU Local 583, Neil McKinnon, vicepresident@ATU583.com

Human Elements Canada, Matt Youens, matt@humanelements.ca

Institute for Community Prosperity, Walter Hossli, walter.hossli@gmail.com

St. Laurence Anglican Church, Rev. Anna Greenwood-Lee, rector@stlaurence.ca

The Leftovers Foundation, Lourdes Juan, lourdes@rescuefood.ca

Momentum, Courney Mo, courtneym@momentum.org

Sustainable Calgary, Celia Lee, celia@sustainablecalgary.org

St. Thomas United Church, Karen Kavanagh, karenkavanagh80@gmail.com

Temple B’nai Tikvah, Rabbi Mark Glickman, markglickman@comcast.net

Vibrant Communities Calgary, Franco Savoia, franco@vibrantcalgary.com

Women’s Centre; Susan Gillies; susan@womenscentrecalgary.org

 

Bill Phipps, bfphipps@shaw.ca

Bob Hawkesworth, bob@hawkesworth.com

Aïda Nciri aida.nciri@gmail.com

Mary Anne Schleinich  mschleinich@gmail.com

Susan Wood, susanwood125@outlook.com

Walter Hossli, walter.hossli@gmail.com

Franco Savoia, fsavoia@shaw.ca

 

         

 

               

 

           


Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • C Huston
    published this page in About Us 2019-11-19 13:48:23 -0700
  • C Huston
    published this page in About Us 2019-06-27 09:55:16 -0600